General Bookish

Top Ten Tuesday || Books I DNF’d

Happy Tuesday, readers! Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, and features a different top 10 theme each week. This week’s topic is Recent Books I Did Not Finish. I’m actually a big DNF person, but the problem is that when I don’t finish a book, I rarely keep track of it or review it so it’s not the easiest to remember. 😂

Let me look back through my books and try to find some though! I also have two categories of DNF – those that are DNF forever (will never attempt to read again) and DNF for now (might attempt again in the future). 💖🤗

Let’s jump in!

  1. The House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward. DNF forever @30%. I just absolutely couldn’t stand the characters and narration in this one. Two of the three POVs were so annoying and difficult to enjoy that I ended up giving up.
  2. Brutal Prince by Sophia Lark. DNF for now @35%. This was my first ‘mafia romance’ read and it was just giving me big corny energy. I wasn’t hating the writing or anything and I don’t mind spice in books; this one just wasn’t hitting right at the time.
  3. Night by Elie Wiesel. DNF only for now @50%. This is obviously such a great and important book. It’s one that I had to work my way through so slowly because Holocaust memoirs are so emotionally difficult. This one ended up feeling claustrophobic when I tried to read it because what happened was such a tragedy. I’ll absolutely go back and finish this one once I’m in the read headspace for it.
  4. NOS4A2 by Joe Hill. DNF forever @20%. I’ve realized I just don’t like Hill’s writing much, which is a shame because I love horror and I’ve enjoyed several Stephen King books. Hill’s writing feels incredibly dated to me and it’s like watching someone write with only the style quirks that I don’t enjoy about King’s writing. Also, nearly 700 pages… yikes!
  5. The Hacienda by Isabel Cañas. DNF forever @25%. I tried this one with my book club and several of us ended up DNFing. Just incredibly disjointed and such a slow burn book, heavy on the slow.
  6. Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir. DNF possibly forever @10%. I wanted to like this one because it was recommended to me by so many bookish friends, but it just was not hitting right when I tried it. I was so confused and the ‘humor’ of the main character felt cheesy. Might try again later, might not.
  7. The Secret History by Donna Tartt. DNF @5% and absolutely will finish later. I love dark academia and there’s no way I won’t love this book. It’s right up my alley. Unfortunately I tried to read it while I was super busy with work and gave up really quickly before I could even get into it while my book club went on to enjoy it. I’ll read it soon!

Well, I got to 7 out of 10, not too bad. When I DNF a book it’s usually almost immediately, like the writing style is just not going to work with me, or I read 20-50% of it before deciding to give up. If I read only 5% or something, I never review or rate it. If I read a third or half of it and can’t finish it, I may or may not rate and review depending on why I DNF’d.

⁉️ Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Be sure to share your post in the comments too if you have one!

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday || Books I DNF’d

  1. I haven’t read any of these. I did wonder about reading The Last House on Needless Street but with such mixed reviews, I decided against it. Sounds like I was right!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also don’t really mark DNF often. I started keeping a Google Doc with a list that included when I read it, why I DNF’d, if I want to give it another try at some point, etc.

    I also couldn’t get into Gideon the Ninth. I do have trouble with adult fantasy/science-fiction that are long and dense. I’ve heard such great things about it that I want to give it another try but I’m not sure when.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m the opposite, I think! I haven’t read any fiction from the time period that I can remember. I always want to though because it seems like there are a lot of good historical fiction books around it.

      Like

      1. There’s definitely a wealth of fiction books covering the period, and you can often find ones covering perspectives from countries that you don’t really hear a whole lot about when learning the history in school.

        Like

Leave a comment